The Four Freedoms of Roosevelt & Rockwell

This class has five components:

  • Lesson Plan
  • Slide Deck
  • Speaker Notes
  • Questions for Discussion
  • Participant Handout


On January 06, 1941 President Franklin Roosevelt delivered his state-of-the-union speech to the American public. America had not yet joined the war but within the year would be attacked and left with no choice but to defend itself. In his speech Roosevelt outlined the “four freedoms” that he considered basic for every human being; the freedom of speech, the freedom of worship, the freedom from want, and the freedom from fear. Inspired by Roosevelt’s speech, Norman Rockwell, a great American painter, created four paintings depicting simple family scenes and illustrating freedoms Americans often take for granted.